Haslam asks for disaster help for 7 counties

Friday, July 8, 2011, Vol. 35, No. 27

NASHVILLE (AP) — Gov. Bill Haslam has asked President Barack Obama to declare seven counties federal disaster areas as a result of severe weather June 18-25.

The counties are Anderson, Claiborne, Grainger, Henderson, Knox, Loudon and Marion.

A presidential declaration would make the counties eligible for various federal assistance programs.

Haslam said in his request Tuesday the weather included "historic floods and unprecedented storms."