Lawmakers reject term limits for themselves

Friday, March 25, 2011, Vol. 35, No. 12

NASHVILLE (AP) — A Senate panel has rejected a proposed constitutional amendment to limit lawmakers to eight years per chamber of the General Assembly.

The Knoxville News Sentinel reports that the measure received only a single supporting vote in the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, with seven members voting against the resolution sponsored by Republican Sen. Mike Faulk of Kingsport.

Faulk said limiting House members to four two-year terms and senators to two four-year terms would "encourage turnover and a fresh set of ideas."

Faulk noted that Tennessee's governor and the U.S. president are subject to eight-year term limits.

Proposals to amend the state constitution must pass in two successive General Assemblies before they can go before voters in a gubernatorial election year.