Armstrong named president of NBCSL

Friday, December 14, 2012, Vol. 36, No. 50

NASHVILLE (AP) — Democratic Rep. Joe Armstrong of Knoxville has been selected to be the president of the National Black Caucus of State Legislators for the next two years.

Other Tennessee lawmakers will also have leadership positions.

Democratic Reps. Brenda Gilmore of Nashville and Johnny Shaw of Bolivar will serve as executive committee members at-large.

Democratic Rep. Karen Camper of Memphis will continue to serve as Region IV chair for Kentucky, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

The NBCSL was founded in 1977 to develop and promote educational, research and training programs that help African-American lawmakers be more effective when introducing legislation.